About the SRC

Why the State Rehabilitation Council Exists

As a result of amendments to the federal Rehabilitation Act in 1992, each state has a citizens' advisory council for its vocational rehabilitation agency. In Virginia, the State Rehabilitation Advisory Council for the Commonwealth's Department of Rehabilitative Services (DRS) was established by the General Assembly in its 1994 session. When the Rehabilitation Act was reauthorized as part of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, the role of this citizens' council -- now called a State Rehabilitation Council -- was strengthened in order to underscore its importance in providing public input and advice to the state vocational rehabilitation agencies.

The SRC has three standing committees:  Executive, Internal & External

Who Serves on the State Rehabilitation Council

In accordance with federal statutory requirements, the Governor of Virginia appoints individuals to the SRC. The SRC must include among its members:

Representatives of disability groups that include a cross-section of individuals with physical, cognitive, sensory, and mental disabilities; representatives of individuals with disabilities who have difficulty representing themselves or are unable due to their disabilities to represent themselves; and current or former applicants for, or recipients of, vocational rehabilitation services.

One representative each from the federal Client Assistance Program at the Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy; the Statewide Independent Living Council; the Virginia Workforce Council; the Department of Education; the parent training and information center; the Employment Services Organizations; and a qualified counselor from the state's vocational rehabilitation department.

Four representatives of business, industry, and labor.

A majority of the members of the SRC must be people with disabilities.

Who are the Members of the State Rehabilitation Council

Suzanne Bowers – Bealeton

John Eisenberg – Richmond

Audie Gaddis – Harrisonburg

Anthony “Toney” Lineberry – Manakin Sabot

Ellen McIlhenny – Montpelier

Rumy Mohta – Midlothian

J. Bryant Neville – Dewitt

James A. Rothrock – Richmond

Lauren Snyder Roche - Poquoson

Thalia Simpson-Clement – Washington, D.C.

Sally J. Thompson – Hampton

Julie Triplett – Richmond

SRC Bylaws

SRC Bylaws 11-06

Level A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 Valid HTML 4.01!  Valid CSS!
This File Was Last Modified: Monday November 04 2013